TOBA Announces Election Results

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. -- The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association announced today the re-election of Dr. J. David Richardson as chairman of its Board of Trustees.  Also joining Richardson on the Board of Trustees to serve three-year terms as new members are Robert Devlin, Terry Finley, Bernard McCormack, Charlie O’Connor and Garrett O’Rourke.

Re-elected to three-year terms were current trustees Barbara Banke, Mike Caruso, Brant Laue, Michael McMahon and Kenneth McPeek.

“I am honored to be re-elected as TOBA chairman,” said Dr. Richardson. “Our board of trustees and the TOBA membership represent an important constituency and we look forward to working with other industry stakeholders to improve the economics and integrity of the sport.”

Immediately following its annual members meeting, the TOBA Board of Trustees met to elect officers for the 1,800-member association.  Officers named for 2017-2018 are: Dr. J. David Richardson, chairman, Everett Dobson, vice-chairman, Dan Metzger, president; Michael McMahon, secretary; and Craig Bernick, treasurer.

The TOBA Board also approved the reappointment of Craig Bernick to the American Graded Stakes Committee.  The 2017-2018 committee is comprised of TOBA members Dr. J. David Richardson (chair), Barbara Banke, Reynolds Bell, Jr., Craig Bernick, Everett Dobson, and J. Michael O’Farrell and racing officials Georganne Hale (Maryland Jockey Club), Rick Hammerle (Santa Anita Park), Ben Huffman (Churchill Downs and Keeneland), Martin Panza (NYRA) and Thomas Robbins (Del Mar).